Create your Zoom account
Go to https://zoom.us/ and set up a free account for yourself. Make sure that you install version 5.1.1 or higher. Download the desktop app and login using the credentials you used to create your free account. If you are not already familiar with Zoom, take some time to look around and get comfortable using the app. You can also join a test meeting to familiarize yourself with Zoom.
The lecture: Join a class meeting
Lectures happen in the main class zoom meeting. This is how you join it.
First, join the class a bit early to familiarize yourself with things and get comfortable.
You will need the class meeting Id number. The meeting Id number will be, or have been sent to you via email, so as to assure its privacy.
Proper zoom etiquette is to mute yourself when the class begins. Whenever you need to speak in class, un-mute yourself and speak, and then re-mute yourself after speaking. This ensures no echoing and disruption in the class.
Labs: Breakout Rooms
Once or twice in the lecture, you will adjourn with a Teaching Assistant (TA) to a breakout room to work on some coding, which will help build your understanding.
In the zoom application, Breakout rooms are sessions that are split off from the main Zoom meeting. They allow the participants to meet in smaller groups.
You will be pre-assigned to breakout rooms during your session. Your TA will invite you to join the breakout room.
You will experience a sudden break in the space-time continuum and will be thrown into a breakout room:
If you click Ask for Help (see the bottom of the screen), it will notify the meeting host that you need assistance and they will be asked to join your breakout room.
The host can send you broadcast notifications on your screen, these will appear in a chat bubble on the top right.
Leaving the breakout room
You can leave the breakout room and return to the main meeting session at any time, or you can leave the meeting entirely from the breakout room. Dont click that, it will kick you out of the lecture!
When the host ends the breakout rooms, you will be notified and given the option to return to the main room immediately, or in 60 seconds.